Whatever’s in the Cupboard

I went to Paris a couple of weeks ago. Had some fantastic food, which will doubtless inspire me for months to come. But before all that, there was the morning after, nothing in the fridge and the terrible feeling of missing Paris and the holiday mood already.

Luckily, I found the perfect ingredients in my cupboard: crushed tomatoes, tinned sardines and olives as well as whole grain penne pasta.

ImageI

I quickly sautéed sliced onion and crushed garlic in olive oil. And then added the tomato and seasoned with salt, black pepper as well as a dash of balsamic vinegar and sugar for balance. The I added the olives and let the sauce simmer.

Image

Meanwhile, I’d cooked some whole grain penne pasta to an al dente condition. I first added the tinned sardines to my tomato sauce and then mixed in the pasta. Ready.

Image

Sprinkled with grated parmesan. Simple. Quick. Good.

 

 

Leave a Reply

