Le quiche, c’est chic.

Been having a Rachel Khoo moment on this gorgeous September Saturday. Put on some bright orange lipstick and went kitchen equipment and food shopping at Stockmann’s – Helsinki’s biggest and, I believe, oldest department store. I needed a new baking tin and a ceramic pie dish. And I needed ingredients…

Two theatre friends are hosting a joint birthday party tonight. With a pirate theme. Naturally, I’m feeling more French and Khoo-ey. I decided to not try to make some pirate food. I mean, what do pirates eat anyway? The hostesses have promised salted meat and rhum. So I’m going to just do what I want to, and make a broccoli and brie quiche.

IMG_1758

I used to have a fantastic quiche dough recipe in the mid-noughties, but I lost it. Time to do some googling again. I found this:

http://myfrenchcuisine.blogspot.fi/2005/06/easy-quiche-crust-from-scratch.html

Not the most basic or classic quiche dough recipe, or “pâte brisée”, but easy and straight-forward enough.

For the filling I consulted several recipes, from Julia Child & co.’s Quiche au camembert to something similar by Hans Välimäki, the Finnish Gordon Ramsay (with similar ego but less of a temper – he is Finnish, after all). I did a mixture of what I found, trying to take into account the fact that my baking tin was a bit bigger than what Julia Child’s recipe had: a little more than a decilitre of crème fraîche, 1,5 dl of cooking cream, 4 eggs, salt, black pepper and a bit of white pepper. Hans Välimäki had only 3 eggs in his, but I thought my tin was also deeper and would need the extra egg to set the baked filling better.

IMG_1745

In stead of allowing the dough to sit in the fridge for an hour, and putting one half of it aside and in the freezer for later use, I took it all after a half an hour of resting. I have this funny thing, that I don’t like to use a rolling pin to get my quiche dough thin and ready for the tin. I want to work it in by hand. I just do. So a softer, warmer dough is good for kneading it into the tin, until it’s even and thin, with enough dough around the edges to form a nice crust.

IMG_1742IMG_1747

I cut the broccoli into smaller bits and blanched it quickly, draining it and leaving it to wait. I sliced the brie into small cubes and placed them at the bottom of the now pie-crusted tin. I placed bits of blanched broccoli in between. I poured the mixture of crème fraîche, cream and eggs on top, placing some more brie and broccoli pieces evenly in the tin. To give the quiche a nice cheesiness, I sprinkled grated cheese (something creamy and not too full of flavour) on top. I’d pre-heated the oven to 200 degrees Celsius. The quiche baked for about a half an hour.

IMG_1746IMG_1737IMG_1750IMG_1752

 

The quiche is still cooling and I haven’t tasted it yet. Feeling adventurous (must be my inner pirate coming through), I’ll take my quiche over to the party in a couple of hours and we’ll see then and there, if it’s any good! I’ll report back afterwards.

I’ll also soon do a post on a nice little bulgur salad I did as a side-dish. Stay tuned…

One Comment Add yours

  1. brunssikka says:

    The quiche was a success. 🙂

    The crust was thin enough but not too crumbly. The filling was thick with a subtle taste. Brie and broccoli are a good combo but don’t pack as much punch taste-wise as quiche lorraine or something with, say, tomatoes. One thing I thought of, in hindsight, to add some zing: before putting in the filling, line your crust with French mustard.

Leave a Reply

