Walk Like A Vegetarian

Today is World Vegetarian Day. Finland seems intent on actually making the entire month of October “meat-free”, if social media is anything to go by.

Here’s my contribution for today: Fennel and lentil soup.

IMG_1948

Yes, it’s the final instalment of my exciting Amy Willcock trilogy. (Irony.) I bet you’ve been wondering what happened to the fennel, whose top was used for the Pernod mackerel… Well, it got another fennel friend and together they went into this warming, veggie soup.

IMG_1939

I have a confession to make. I followed the recipe and used chicken stock. But actually chicken fond. So not exactly vegetarian. But had I used veggie stock cubes, then it would have been.

This easy soup is perfect for cold October evenings.

IMG_1941

I doubled the recipe again: Start with two garlic cloves, whole and skin on. Toss in the pan. Two carrots, peeled and chopped into bits. Two fennel bulbs, chopped into a few bits. Chicken or veggie stock, 1 litre. Sweet paprika powder and ground black pepper to season. Bring to the boil and let it simmer for about 30 minutes in total. I used ready-cooked green lentils, so I added them after the veggies had been cooking away in the stock for about 10 minutes.

When the fennel is perfectly al dente, fish out the garlic cloves and squeeze the cooked, creamy insides back into the soup, ditching the skins. Then take the pan off the heat and pour some olive oil in. Add chopped fresh parsley and stir.

IMG_1946

 

And that’s all. So good. Recommended. Let’s see if I can keep up with meat-free October. I wonder…

 

Leave a Reply

