Getting Dippy With It

It’s a slippery slope from hummus to other bean dips. Hummus is a kind of a gateway dip, really.

IMG_2581

Getting the hand-held mixer of your dreams for your birthday is also dangerous. I’m so in love with my Bamix that everything – and I mean EVERYTHING – may well get pureed this year. If you can’t “eat it” with a straw, it ain’t right.

IMG_2464

Well, I’m half-joking.

But bean dips have been on my mind a lot lately.

I tried making this white bean dip with roasted lemon and rosemary a couple of months ago. I wasn’t happy with it. I don’t know whether it came out a bit bland because it was not made with my lovely, all-powerful bamix, or whether it was just a rather bland recipe (I googled it).

Well, I decided to try something slightly different and stumbled on deliciousness.

White bean and herbs dip

  • a tin of cannellini beans
  • a handful of fresh mint
  • a handful of fresh parsley
  • 1 small clove of garlic
  • lemon juice
  • olive oil
  • salt
  • black pepper

IMG_2573

Just use a hand-held mixer and puree the lot together. Add oil and juice if it seems a bit too thick. I used an infused lemon and ginger olive oil, so you could try other flavoured olive oils. I think it added a nice, subtle kick to the dip.

IMG_2574

Serve it with cucumber or carrot sticks or spread it on bread or… whatever. It’s really nice. And good for you.

IMG_2582

Leave a Reply

