Raw Power

I have the unfortunate genetic tendency towards high cholesterol – which I’m still in denial about (cue duck breasts and fudge…). One great way of lowering your bad cholesterol is eating oat porridge. But I’ve always found porridge boring. In theory as well as taste. And then there’s the fact that I’m useless at eating breakfast. I can’t eat much in the mornings. I’m more of a leisurely brunch gal. But I don’t have time for that during the week or when I’m rehearsing a play at weekends…

A facebook connection posted a link to a Finnish blog about raw porridge the other week. When I was a child, grandma would occasionally mix porridge oats with cold milk and sugar – and I used to like that. This blog had a wonderful, comprehensive list of what to mix (and in what quantities) to create a good, satisfying raw porridge. And here’s the thing: I’ve made raw porridge a few times now, and every day I’ve had it in the morning, I’ve felt more energetic and my tummy’s been happier. So no excuses, it’s time to go raw.

IMG_2656IMG_2657

Hark all ye vegans! My raw porridge recipe is dairy-free and packed with nuts.

  • 1 dl of porridge oats
  • 1 dl of almond milk (unsweetened!)
  • a pinch of salt
  • half a banana, mashed or diced
  • 1 tbsp of peanut butter
  • a handful of nuts of your choice (pine nuts, pistachios, whatever floats your boat)

IMG_2659IMG_2660

Make your morning porridge in the evening. Mix the oats, salt, almond milk, banana and peanut butter together in a jar that has a lid. Put your raw porridge, with the lid on, in the fridge to “stew” overnight (6-8 hours seems to work well). It’s basically ready to eat when you wake up. You can either add your nuts in the evening, so they can soften with the other ingredients, or you can add them when you’re about to eat, to get some crunch.

It doesn’t look like much but it tastes nice and it may just change your life…

Leave a Reply

