Poaching and Spinaching

This heavenly sandwich just happened.

IMG_2940

I had some baby spinach about to wilt. I had onions, garlic, mustard, oat bread and… eggs. It occurred to me that cooking up a sandwich filling from finely chopped onions and spinach with dijon mustard would be nice, and the best thing to put on top would definitely be a poached egg.

IMG_2933

Here’s what you need for the spinach mash:

  • a handful of baby spinach
  • 1 small onion, finely chopped
  • 1 big garlic clove, pressed
  • salt
  • black pepper
  • olive oil
  • 1 tsp dijon mustard

Sauté the onion and garlic in olive oil on gentle heat. Add the spinach and stir. Let it sit a minute and then season with salt and pepper. Lastly, add the mustard and stir. Turn off the heat and leave it to sit.

IMG_2927IMG_2928

My home girls aka the Brunch Club has meddled in poaching before. But it was my friend J who handled that last time. So, I was actually a poaching virgin. But no more! You can google easy instructions for poaching. I went with this one: http://www.simplyrecipes.com/recipes/easy_poached_eggs/

IMG_2931IMG_2934

I used basic vinegar and I feel it helps. Poaching an egg is not that complicated and it takes only 4 minutes to cook. Mind you, I didn’t have a slotted spoon to get the little poached bugger out of the pan… And this proved to be the most difficult part. A big wooden spoon got it in the end, and in one piece, too. But let me tell you, that egg is delicate and you don’t want to break the yolk until it’s between your teeth!

I did my spinach filling and the poaching simultaneously.

In the end, I just put the spinach filling in, and after some acrobatics, got the egg on top. Then I put the other half of the bread on top and… munched. It can get a bit messy with the beautiful runny yolk but, man, it was satisfying. Especially with a big mug of PG tips.

IMG_2935

I think you could use any bread you like. A white, crusty loaf or a ciabatta might be nice or even rye bread. Something rustic, I should imagine.

Leave a Reply

