Smoothie Operator III: The Revenge of the Kale

Had a fantastic blini night last night with my home girls. Not blogging about that, though. (But might be tempted to share/make our dessert again next Autumn because it was an Autumn/Winter version of pavlova to die for.) A night of blinis, pavlovas with homemade fudge sauce, vodka and champagne, well… Something that HC requires a healthy morning after.

Exploring green smoothie territory still. I’ve been curious about fresh kale. I don’t use it much because it’s only recently become available in Finnish shops (as far as I am aware). But here I am, taking another leap into the smooth…

IMG_2919

I loved the spinach and avocado smoothie I made earlier. So using that as a starting point, here’s a cheerful and zingy kale smoothie. Fit for a Sunday morning when it appears early Spring has been cancelled after all. Sigh.

IMG_2918

SERVES 2 (I made mine – in the pics – with half the ingredients, just for me)

  • 1 banana, in bits
  • 1 apple, peeled and diced
  • 1 avocado
  • 1 kiwi fruit, peeled and diced
  • a few kale leaves, without the stringy bits
  • a good squirt of lime juice (to taste)
  • 2 dl of cold water

Whiz all the ingredients up with a weapon of your choice. Good stuff.

IMG_2921

I find the kiwi fruit and lime give a great sharpness to the taste, which works well with the softer taste and feel of the avocado. Use a starchy apple, like royal gala, it gives better texture. Kale can be a bit weird so make sure whatever you combine it with has a bit of zing to hide the worst of the kale-ness. The lime juice and kiwi fruit did that for me.

Leave a Reply

