Dip Me Baby One More Time

A friend moved recently to a lovely little flat with her four cats (making her officially a crazy cat lady, as she cheerfully/sarcastically declared). She invited a couple of friends over last night and asked me to provide something savoury… Feeling a tad lazy, I went for my staple party food, dips. IMG_3895

I made my hummus and my guacamole, which are both great. I’ve made them so many times now, that they’re pretty much no-fail.

Classic Hummus

IMG_3903

  • 400 g tin of pre-cooked chickpeas (contains 265 g of actual chickpeas)
  • 1 heaped tbsp of tahini (the better the quality, the better the hummus)
  • juice of half a lemon
  • a splash of olive oil
  • 1 clove of garlic, pressed
  • 1 tbsp of jeera (I like to put in a LOT of jeera, you might want to put in less)
  • black pepper and salt to taste

Guacamole

IMG_3904

  • 2 ripe avocados
  • half an onion
  • 1 clove of garlic, pressed
  • half a red chilli, finely chopped
  • juice of 1 lime (or more, if you want)
  • a handful of fresh coriander

+ to season (a pinch of each):

  • salt
  • black pepper
  • ground coriander
  • smoked paprika

IMG_3909

But then I felt a need to take some risks. The inspiration was some random, old NY Times recipe I googled. But I changed it.

Edamame Dip

  • 300 g frozen edamame beans (the ones I used were ready-salted)
  • 2 tbsp miso paste
  • 2 tbsp water
  • more water if the dip is too thick
  • 1 tbsp fresh, grated ginger (or more, if you’re a ginger lover like me)
  • 4 tbsp sushi vinegar (or less, if vinegar isn’t your thing)
  • juice of half a lemon

Edamame beans are gorgeous, and packed with protein and all sorts of goodness. I bought frozen edamame (pre-cooked), which unfortunately were ready-salted – but hey, I work with what I’ve got. I thawed them by steaming since that’s apparently the best way to do it, if you want to retain all the wonderful nutrients (and, like me, you don’t own a microwave).

IMG_3897

I let the thawed edamame cool down a bit, before blitzing them with miso paste mixed in with some water, freshly grated ginger (which almost included knuckle skin, but that just means my grater has good edge) and sushi vinegar. To make the dip thinner, I added water and then some lemon juice, because I felt it needed a bit of freshness. The miso is on the left and the dip is on the right. Doesn’t look like much, I know. But the taste was surprisingly nice and, dare I say, addictive. Vaguely Asian.

IMG_3899IMG_3901

I did worry, though, that my friends wouldn’t like it. But turns out edamame dip works great, especially on little crostinis. The only uncomfortable thing about the dip was that one friend couldn’t get her head around the word ‘edamame’ and so the dip has now been re-christened ‘enema/eczema/oedema’ dip. IMG_3906

And here’s a bonus fact for all you cat people out there: Cats won’t touch edamame dip. Alas, the cats got the rest of the fantastic crême anglais (or custard, as normal people call it) my friend had made to go with her scrumptious lingonberry pie. All in all, both people and cats were very well-fed last night.

I have one more bag of edamame beans in the freezer. Stay tuned for more adventures in enema/eczema/oedema…

Leave a Reply

