Not All Ramen – Yes, All (Hot) Ramen

People keep raving about sriracha sauce. It’s kind of a recent culinary discovery in Finland. I’m not a huge fan of terribly hot food. I have a sensitive tummy. But on one of my usual wild food inspiration pinning sprees on Pinterest, I clicked on this lovely-sounding noodle soup recipe that involved sriracha and poached eggs. I had to try it.

I modified the recipe somewhat because I didn’t have any celery salt or garlic powder, and instead of fresh tomatoes I used tinned and they worked fine. And sheesh, it was good and hot. My tummy wasn’t exactly happy later but my mouth was all like “When are we having this party again?”

IMG_4459

Here’s the original recipe:

http://bakerbynature.com/20-minute-spicy-sriracha-ramen-noodle-soup/

And here’s what I did:

Sriracha Noodle Soup with Poached Egg

The broth:

  • 2 tbsp sesame oil
  • 2 tbsp sriracha sauce
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 2 tinned tomatoes (I used the rest to make a pasta sauce for later)
  • 1 tbsp fresh, grated ginger
  • 1 tbsp crushed garlic (4-5 cloves)
  • 4,5 dl water
  • 9-10 dl vegetable stock

to season: salt, soy sauce (I used sweet soy), a hint of rice vinegar (keep tasting the broth as it simmers and tweak the seasoning to your taste)

The rest:

  • 2-3 packets of cheap noodles
  • chopped spring onion
  • fresh coriander, to garnish

IMG_4463

Heat a big saucepan with the sesame oil and sriracha sauce in. Add the onions and sauté. A little later, add the tomatoes. Keep the pan on medium heat. Tinned ones are kind of cooked as they are so they don’t need as long in the pan as fresh ones would.

IMG_4465IMG_4466

After a few minutes of stirring, add the ginger and garlic paste. Stir for a few minutes more. It smells amazing. I accidentally added my seasoning at this point, although the original recipe said to add them later. I don’t think it made a difference… Um.

IMG_4468

Then add the water and use a mixer or blender to smooth out the broth.

IMG_4469IMG_4471

Then just put it back in the pan, if you’ve taken it out, and get it back on the heat. Add stock and cook it a bit. Then add the noodles and allow them to soften and loosen. Right at the end, add the spring onions, plus save some for garnish.

IMG_4475IMG_4477

Poaching eggs is easy. Get some water to boil in a saucepan. Add a bit of plain vinegar to the water. You can use a spoon to make a little swirl happen once the water is boiling. Then you just crack your egg and gently plop the insides into the water. I like my poached eggs quite runny on the inside, so I take them out pretty quickly.

IMG_4479

To plate up your gorgeous hot ramen soup, fish out some noodles first, then pour broth over them and then pop the poached egg on top, garnishing the dish with some chopped spring onion and coriander. Unbelievably good. So good. But you may have an uncomfortable visit to the loo later. Just sayin’. Totally worth it, though!

IMG_4482

Leave a Reply

